FILE PHOTO: An empty view of Ngurah Rai International Airport is seen as Indonesia’s resort island of Bali reopens for international flights, following border closures brought about by the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic in Badung, Bali, Indonesia October 14, 2021, in this photo taken by Antara Foto/Fikri Yusuf/via REUTERS/File Photo

November 28, 2021

JAKARTA (Reuters) – Indonesia will ban the arrival of travellers who have been in eight African countries, to curb the spread of the new Omicron variant of COVID-19, an official document showed on Sunday.

Indonesia, home to popular tourist island Bali, will not allow people who have been in South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Mozambique, Eswatini or Nigeria in the past 14 days.

The restriction takes effect on Monday, the document says.

Delegates attending G20 meetings, which Indonesia chairs, will not be affected by the ban.

(Reporting by Nilufar Rizki; Writing by Fathin Ungku; Editing by William Mallard)

November 28, 2021 4:50 am

By admin

Leave a Reply